Tags

, , , , , ,


Are you one of the many who have often tried to become a Christian, only to find the change was temporary and not real? Maybe you need to re-think everything about how Christ accomplishes salvation.

Christ comes to you on the basis of his completed work for sinners at the cross. He sincerely offers to you the forgiveness of your sins and complete reconciliation to God.

The temptation is to look at yourself and ask: Am I sorry enough for my sins? Am I sincere enough in faith? Am I strong enough to follow Christ?

The answer to all those questions is no. You’re not sorry enough for eternal guilt. Your motives are mixed. You are weak.

Does that mean you can’t be saved? No, it means you must stop looking at yourself altogether.

The point of the gospel is that Christ is sufficient enough. Christ is sincere in his offer of salvation. Christ is strong enough to save.

Your hope is not in the sincerity of your response. Your hope is in the sincerity of Christ’s offer: “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28).

Stop looking inside for a sincere enough faith. Look outside yourself to Christ who bids you to come. Your saving response to Christ is something like this.

Lord, in my sin and uncertainty, I come to Thee. I am not confident in the sincerity of my faith but in the sincerity of your promise to save.

In the best way I know how, I give myself completely to Thee so that I might partake of the reconciliation with God that you purchased for sinners at the cross. I ask you to save me so that I would follow you henceforth and forevermore.

If anything depends on me, I will remain lost.

I receive you and rest in you alone.

Complete salvation is what Christ purchased at the cross. You must trust him only and trust him exclusively. If you do not know him, he bids you to come now and drink freely of the water of life.

He is earnest. Will you come?

~Pastor Don Green

To coincide with a new year, you can be a completely new person, from the heart on out. But only through true regeneration through the biblical Jesus Christ. Jesus says quite clearly that He makes all things new. ALL. A new creation from the old, dead, rotting corpse of sin that is/was you. A whole new creation with new loves, new desires, new thinking, new actions. ALL. NEW. YOU.

Anything less is just a temporarily soft pillow for your ongoing trip to eternal Hell. Where will you be headed in the coming year?~AGM†

He that believes on me, as the scripture has said, out of his heart shall flow rivers of living water. John 7:38

Or…..

For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed themselves out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water. Jeremiah 2:13

http://www.whatstandard.com/