Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


{I had every intention of writing a post for the encouragement of the saints in this coming new year….and then I read this. And I thought “I cannot add a thing to something that is already so perfectly spoken!”. And so I am reblogging a reblog (which would be a threeblog) from two sisters who not only beat me to the punch, but did so in such a way that I am most blessed and encouraged and extraordinarily happy to see! May you all find encouragement for the coming days, weeks, and months ahead (should the Lord tarry) to walk CLOSER to the One who leads us perfectly, and promises that in His sovereignty, we WILL get home one way or another.🙂 Grace and peace to you in our Lord Jesus Christ, our Hope of glory, our everlasting Redeemer! May the coming year find you deeper into His word, steadier in on that narrow road, leaning onto Him, and content in all things. And may we all obey Him more readily, steadily, and uncompromisingly, as we love Him through doing that. More love to Thee, dear Lord! Pray for one another, and know that come what may, our Father is sovereign and His will is always good! Much love to you all. Happy 2014!~AGM†}

30MondayDec 2013

Posted by  in EncouragementTruth

Encouragement from the Word of God, courtesy of Eliza at Holding Forth His Word.

Strong Tower

Posted on December 30, 2013 by Eliza

 

Our God is a strong tower; a very present help in times of trouble.  The righteous run to Him and are saved.  “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name.  He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him.  With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.  Psalm 91:14-16.

God helps His children and bestows His favor upon those who are called by His name.  As those who love the Lord we can trust Him in the day of adversity and He will hear us and deliver us.  Not only will He deliver us, He will honor us.  He promises to satisfy us with long life and bless us with His salvation.  We can see this promise realized in the life of Paul as he served our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ in the city of Corinth.  After these things Paul departed from Athens and went to Corinth.  And he found a certain Jew named Aquila, born in Pontus, who had recently come from Italy with his wife Priscilla (because Claudius had commanded all the Jews to depart from Rome); and he came to them.  So, because he was of the same trade, he stayed with them and worked; for by occupation they were tentmakers.  And he reasoned in the synagogue every Sabbath, and persuaded both Jews and Greeks.  When Silas and Timothy had come from Macedonia, Paul was compelled by the Spirit, and testified to the Jews that Jesus is the Christ.  But when they opposed him and blasphemed, he shook his garments and said to them, “Your blood be upon your own heads; I am clean.  From now on I will go to the Gentiles.”  And he departed from there and entered the house of a certain man named Justus, one who worshiped God, whose house was next door to the synagogue.  Then Crispus, the ruler of the synagogue, believed on the Lord with all his household.  And many of the Corinthians, hearing, believed and were baptized.  Now the Lord spoke to Paul in the night by a vision, “Do not be afraid, but speak, and do not keep silent; for I am with you, and no one will attack you to hurt you; for I have many people in this city.”  And he continued there a year and six months, teaching the word of God among them.  When Gallio was proconsul of Achaia, the Jews with one accord rose up against Paul and brought him to the judgment seat, saying, “This fellow persuades men to worship God contrary to the law.”  And when Paul was about to open his mouth, Gallio said to the Jews, “If it were a matter of wrongdoing or wicked crimes, O Jews, there would be reason why I should bear with you.  But if it is a question of words and names and your own law, look to it yourselves; for I do not want to be a judge of such matters.”  And he drove them from the judgment seat.  Then all the Greeks took Sosthenes, the ruler of the synagogue, and beat him before the judgment seat.  But Gallio took no notice of these things.  So Paul still remained a good while.  Acts 18:1-18 

Paul met the Jews on their terms in that he reasoned with them about the Christ in their synagogue every Sabbath, the day that they worshiped God.  However, after Silas and Timothy arrived from Macedonia, the Holy Spirit compelled him to witness to the Jews that Jesus is the Christ.  Once Paul named Jesus as the Christ the Jews persecuted him and blasphemed God.  Paul reproved the Jews by shaking off his clothes and saying that he would go to the Gentiles.   Justus opened his home to Paul, Crispus the ruler of the synagogue along with his whole household believed on the Lord Jesus Christ and many Corinthians believed and were baptized.  However, the Jews were not done with persecuting Paul and hatched another plot to stop him from preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ.  God, omniscient, reassured Paul that He would not allow anyone to hurt him and that he should keep preaching about Jesus Christ and His gospel.  He then followed through on that promise by sovereignly directing Gallio to reject the Jews’ false charges against Paul.  Poor Sosthenes was beaten for all of his effort.  Paul was vindicated, protected and honored by God His Father and the result was that Paul continued to preach and teach about Jesus Christ in Corinth.  Paul saw the salvation of God wrought in the lives of those to whom he preached and even Sosthenes, his enemy, was saved as reported in 1 Corinthians 1 where Paul calls Sosthenes our brother.  Paul called to be an apostle of Jesus Christ through the will of God, and Sosthenes our brother.   God whom we serve is amazing and awesome, protecting His servants and bringing the lost to salvation.  God works all things according to the counsel of His will (Ephesians 1:11) and if He has called you to a specific task He will provide support and deliverance just as He provided His aid to Paul.  He will also honor you as He blesses His work through you for the glory of His praise and kingdom.

God commands us to call upon Him in the day of trouble so that He will deliver us.  But He will not answer the prayers of the wicked who with cynical hypocrisy call upon Him for help.  Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me.”  But to the wicked God says:  ”What right have you to declare My statutes, Or take My covenant in your mouth, Seeing you hate instruction And cast My words behind you?  When you saw a thief, you consented with him, And have been a partaker with adulterers.  You give your mouth to evil, And your tongue frames deceit.  You sit and speak against your brother; You slander your own mother’s son.  These things you have done, and I kept silent; You thought that I was altogether like you; But I will rebuke you, And set them in order before your eyes.  Now consider this, you who forget God, Lest I tear you in pieces, And there be none to deliver.  Whoever offers praise glorifies Me; and to him who orders his conduct aright I will show the salvation of God.  Psalm 50:15-23  Clearly righteous behavior comes from the redeemed and God answers His own with His glorious deliverance.  The wicked though, He rebukes and offers them no such consolation.   The wicked habitually turn from the truth of His word and dishonor God with their rebellious living and defamation of Him.  There is an eternal chasm that separates the wicked from the redeemed.

In the following passages from Psalms we see the godly attitude of believers who call upon God in the day of trouble.  Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer; And attend to the voice of my supplication.  In the day of my trouble I will call upon You, For You will answer me.  Among the gods there is none like you, O Lord; Nor are there any works like Your works.  All nations whom You have made shall come and worship before You, O Lord, And shall glorify Your name.  For You are great and do wondrous things; You alone are God.  Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in your truth; Unite my heart to fear Your name. I will praise You, O Lord my God, with all my heart, and I will glorify Your name forevermore.  For great is your mercy toward me, and You have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.  Psalm 86:6-13  “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him on high, because he has known My name.  He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him.  With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.  Psalm 91:14-16  The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, Slow to anger and great in mercy.  The Lord is good to all, And His tender mercies are over all His works.  The Lord is righteous in all His ways, Gracious in all His works.  The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth.  He will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him; He also will hear their cry and save them.  The Lord preserves all who love Him, but all the wicked He will destroy.  My mouth shall speak the praise of the Lord, And all flesh shall bless His holy name Forever and ever.   Psalm 145:8-9; 17-21  Believers know the name of the Lord and love the Lord because He has saved them from eternal damnation in hell through the gospel of Jesus Christ; the good news that Christ died on the cross for our sins and rose again from the dead for our justification and eternal life.  Believers extol the Lord, praising Him and exalting Him, glorying in His works and attributes, rejoicing in His sovereignty over all the earth and nations.  Believers recognize that God will destroy the wicked who will never share in the blessings of the redeemed.   Believers trust the Lord to teach them His truth, and therefore walk in His truth, knowing that God commands us to call upon Him in truth; directs us to align our understanding and knowledge of God from the Bible, His Holy inspired word, His word of truth.

As the dearly beloved of God our Father we can be encouraged to call upon Him in time of trouble.  As He has cared for His saints throughout the ages, so He promises to take care of us.   What is more, Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior intercedes for us at the right hand of the Almighty, we can meet with Him at the throne of grace during trial and difficulty.  Another wonderful doctrine from the Scriptures teaches us that the Holy Spirit is our resident teacher, guide and comforter.  He resides in our hearts and also intercedes for us as we face multiple trials, temptations, and tragedies.  God our Father, Jesus our Lord and Savior, the Holy Spirit our Comforter succor us throughout our travail in this life and brings about victory, vindication and honor so that He is glorified and grace is spread abroad within our circles of influence.  Aren’t His ways marvelous and glorious?  He is our strong tower, what shall we fear? Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation.  He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be greatly moved…My soul, wait silently for God alone, For my expectation is from Him.  He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved.  In God is my salvation and my glory; The rock of my strength, And my refuge, is in God.  Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Psalm 62:1-2,5-8. 

forgiven