I found this review from a comment on a post by the reviewer….and in reading it, I think it is excellent…both the post AND what Law has to say. As I told the reviewer, I was just about to post on this subject. Well, guess I’m gonna post TWO on this subject. This for all and one for women in Christ who need godly counsel from a Titus 2 woman whose books have been extremely beneficial to me. More on that to come, but for now…this is an excellent read. Check out the blog for more…

I'm All Booked

Cover of "A Serious Call to a Devout and ...A Serious Call to a Devout and Holy Life by William Law

“He is the devout man who considers and serves God in everything and who makes all of his life an act of devotion by doing everything in the name of God and under such rules as are conformable to His glory.”
(Note: I read the 1955 abridged edition, which was edited by a group of laymen to make it more accessible to the 20th century reader.)

William Law’s book, published in England in 1728, was written in a time and society in which just about everyone professed to be a Christian and attended church. This may seem like a good thing, but during this time, the Christian Church in England (and America) was in a state of spiritual decline. Law observed that there were many nominal Christians who appeared to value the teachings of the Bible…

View original post 1,892 more words